Leave a comment

Zucchini Bread with Chocolate Chips

After spending time at our local farmer’s market, I came home with 6 giant zucchinis. I love zucchini, but have had some difficulty growing them the past several years. When I saw a man at the market pouring bushels of giant zucchini on the table, I knew I need to make zucchini bread.

When I got home at 10:00am, my two daughters were still asleep. My son was sitting in his pajamas in front of the TV playing Xbox. I turned off the TV, woke up the girls and told everyone we were making zucchini bread. I can’t tell you how thrilled everyone was with my idea!

I gave everyone assignments – one was wet ingredients, one was dry and one was the zucchini shredder. I ran back and forth between kids to help where I could. I planned to make 8 loaves of bread (and I only used 3 of those giant zucchinis!) and I was very thankful for our kitchen remodel last year. We had a large workspace which quickly became a mess. My oldest daughter went to get her iPod and soon the kitchen was filled with music, laughter and baking ingredients.

Side note: Always explain abbreviations to your children before having them help in the kitchen. We threw out two of the eight loaves because my daughter thought “tsp” was tablespoon!

I found this recipe on Pinterest, but knew if my kids were going to eat it, I would have to make it a little less healthy. Adding 2 tablespoons of mini chocolate chips made it more kid-friendly.

Ingredients:

1 ½ cups of shredded zucchini, pressed in paper towel to eliminate moisture

2 large eggs

¼ cup of plain yogurt

1 tablespoon of lemon juice

6 tablespoons of melted butter

1 ½ cups of granulated sugar

2 cups of flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon of allspice

2 tablespoons (or more) mini chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Coat a bread pan with cooking spray. I used disposable pans that were 8 x 3 5/8. (Save yourself some stress and place a baking sheet under the bread pans. I had some overflow and had to clean out my oven!)

Clean zucchini and chop off ends. Cut in half and scoop out the seeds. No need to peel. Place in food processor with shredding blade. When done, place on paper towel and squeeze out any moisture. Set aside.

In large bowl, mix flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, allspice and salt. Add zucchini.

Place butter in bowl and melt in microwave for 30 seconds.

In smaller bowl, add sugar, yogurt, eggs, lemon juice and butter. Mix until blended. Fold into zucchini mixture. (Or if you are like my kids, just dump it all in the bowl and mix – my way sounds so much nicer!)

If making kid-friendly, add two tablespoons of mini chocolate chips and mix into batter.

Transfer batter to bread pan.

Bake at 375 degrees for 55 to 60 minutes. Cool one hour before serving.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

