1 Comment

It Wasn’t Supposed to be Hot Sauage and White Bean Chili

On Tuesday I got up early and ran to the grocery store. I was going to try a new recipe and needed a couple of ingredients. My plan was to put the meat in the crockpot at 1:00 while I worked and cut up the other ingredients closer to dinner time. Mark and I work out of the house and the weather in Chicago has been unseasonably warm. We wanted to squeeze in a bike ride before having to pick up our son. As soon as I was done working, I changed clothes and ran out to enjoy the sun. Needless to say, I forgot all about putting the meat in the crockpot.

At 4:30 I did not have anything else defrosted and considered ordering a pizza. However, I wanted to stay true to my new blog and decided to head back to the grocery store. On the way there, I mentally planned a recipe. I wanted to make hot Italian sausage with green peppers, onions and tomatoes (which is exactly what we order on our pizza – too funny). I thought I would pour the whole thing over pasta and make it more kid friendly.

I found hot Italian sausage without casings in the meat case. Perfect! I wouldn’t have to slice it up after it was cooked. I stopped by the produce department and picked up sweet onions and green peppers and picked up a fresh loaf of bread from the bakery to go with it. On the way out, there was a display of great northern beans and at the last minute, I decided to add it to my recipe.

Oops! I forgot to add the tomatoes to the picture!

Ingredients:
Package of hot Italian sausage without casings
(2) 14oz. cans great northern beans
(1) 28oz. can petite diced tomatoes
2 small sweet onions – diced
2 medium green peppers – diced
2 cloves of garlic (or more to taste) – chopped
1 tablespoon of dried oregano
1 lb. package of pasta – I used rotini noodles

Directions:
I used a large pan. Cook sausage until browned – about 20 minutes. I had to keep breaking it down in the pan because it doesn’t crumble like ground beef or turkey. Add beans, tomatoes and oregano.

In a separate pan, add onions, peppers and garlic. Sauté until onions turn translucent. Add to larger pan. I deglazed the sauté pan with a little (less than ¼ of a cup) chardonnay and poured it in to the larger pan.

I let the chili simmer while I cooked the pasta. When it was done, I poured it over the pasta. It smelled great, but I had hoped it would have been less chili and more thick sauce.

Mark’s recipe grading scale is based on school grades and he gave this meal a solid B. Although I did not expect it to be a chili, I had to agree with Mark. That’s the thing about cooking. Sometimes, it works out and sometimes it flops. This recipe was enough for two days which meant our kitchen took the next night off.

One comment on “It Wasn’t Supposed to be Hot Sauage and White Bean Chili

  1. […] It Wasn’t Supposed to be Hot Sausage and White Bean Chili […]

Leave a Reply

