3 Comments

Easy Homemade Croutons

What do you do with day (or two) old bread? I hate throwing out food. I have tried to break it up for the birds, but my two black Labs usually find it first. Last week we had bread to go with our pasta and we only used ½ the loaf. I kept the other half in a Ziploc bag, thinking we would eat it the next night. Somehow it got shoved into the cabinet and was forgotten. I pulled it out yesterday and stood with it hovering over the garbage when I remembered a friend of mine saying how she makes her own croutons. I thought I would give it a try.

Ingredients
Leftover Italian Bread (or whatever you have) cut into cubes
3 tbsp. Olive Oil
Dried Basil
Fresh Pepper

Directions:
Pour olive oil into warmed skillet. Pour in bread cubes. Sprinkle basil and pepper on bread and mix to coat evenly. Depending on the amount of bread you are using, you may need to add more oil or cook in separate batches. Cook 10 minutes over medium heat, stirring occasionally. The smell of the basil is heavenly! Let cool completely. If not using that day, place in Ziploc bag for up to one week.

These goes perfect with Romaine lettuce and Caesar dressing.

3 comments on “Easy Homemade Croutons

  1. Great idea. I love croutons, and the boxed ones are never good. I’ll have to try these. Great site!

Leave a Reply

