1 Comment

Easy and Delicious Marinara with Meatballs

Pasta with meatballs is the one meal I can make for my kids and never get a complaint. Sadly, this is not a recipe that I learned from my family, who is Italian. My grandmother, who was a working mom long before it was the norm, prefers jarred sauce. My mother never made meatballs claiming they were too time consuming. I perfected this recipe over the years and could probably make it in my sleep. Tested by friends and family alike, it always gets a thumbs up!

Ingredients:
(1) 28oz. can of petite diced tomatoes
2 small cans of tomato paste
4 ½ cups of water
2 teaspoons of dried oregano
3 teaspoons of minced garlic or 6 cloves

Meatballs:
1 ½ lbs of ground chuck*
1 ½ tablespoons of dried oregano
1 ½ tablespoons of garlic salt
1 egg
1/8 to ¼ cup of breadcrumbs

*I always use ground chuck or ground round. I have tried to use turkey, but the lack of fat in the meat takes away from the flavor of the dish. If you make the sauce ahead of time and refrigerate it overnight, you can easily spoon off the fat.

Directions:
Place the diced tomatoes, tomato paste, water, garlic and oregano in a large pot. In a separate bowl, crack the egg and mix with the oregano and garlic salt. (Yes, it’s a lot of salt. I have used garlic powder in the past and it just doesn’t do the trick. The meatballs do not taste salty at all – trust me.)

Pour the egg mixture over the meat, and mix in a 1/8 cup of the breadcrumbs using your hands. If it is too sticky, add more breadcrumbs. When mixed evenly, form meat into meatballs and add to sauce.

Bring to a boil. When it reaches a boil, turn it down to simmer and place a lid on the pot, tilted to vent. Much of the water will evaporate, leaving a nice thick sauce.

Simmer on low for 2 hours, stirring occasionally. Pour over your favorite pasta.

This meal can also be made in the crockpot. I have left it to cook 4 hours on high. Omit 1 cup of water since it does not vent. When the pasta is cooking, remove the lid from the crockpot to let some of the water evaporate.

One comment on “Easy and Delicious Marinara with Meatballs

Leave a Reply

