5 Comments

Garlic Monkey Bread Muffins and Lasagna

On Sunday, my husband wanted me to make pasta and meatballs. It is a staple in our house, but I just made it the week before. I talked him into lasagna, but I wanted to make something new to go with it. (See my mom blog recipe where I make lasagna 15 minutes at a time!) Salad and bread were my options and being the carb lover that I am, I went with bread.

I looked for an easy bread recipe and found many for garlic monkey bread. My recipe is a combination of the couple I found. Knowing how much my kids love the cinnamon monkey bread, I knew this would be a hit. I asked my 14-year-old daughter to help me. When I first told her what we were making, her reaction was “Gross! Garlic and cinnamon bread? That will taste awful.” Yes it would. I can assure you that this recipe uses no cinnamon.

Ooops! I left the Parmesan cheese out of the picture!

Ingredients:
2 cans of refrigerated biscuits
½ stick of butter
3 cloves of garlic minced or 1 ½ teaspoons of jarred garlic
2 tablespoons parsley flakes
¼ cup of grated Parmesan cheese

Directions:

▪ Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray the inside of a 12 cup muffin tin with non-stick spray.
▪ Cut biscuits in four pieces and place in mixing bowl. If younger kids are helping you, give them kitchen shears.

▪ Melt butter in small sauce pan and add garlic, parsley and Parmesan cheese. Mix together and pour over the biscuit pieces. Gently toss with spoon to evenly coat biscuits.


▪ Place 6 or 7 pieces of biscuit loosely in each muffin cup

▪ Bake at 350 degrees for 12-14 minutes until golden brown.

Everyone loved them and they went great with the lasagna!

Lasagna:

Ingredients:

1 – 1 1/2 lbs. of ground beef, chicken or turkey

12 lasagna noodles

1 1/2 lbs. ricotta cheese

2 cups of shredded mozzarella cheese

2 small cans of tomato paste

1 large (28oz.) can of diced tomatoes

4  cups of water

6 cloves of garlic (or to taste)

2 tablespoons of dried oregano

Directions:

▪ Brown meat and drain off excess fat

▪ While meat is cooking, place tomato paste, diced tomatoes, oregano, garlic and water in a large sauce pot. Mix and bring to a boil.

▪ Add drained meat to tomato mixture and simmer on low for an hour.

▪ While sauce is cooking, boil water in a large pot and add lasagna noodles.

▪ When noodles are fully cooked, drain off water.

▪ Place a small amount of sauce on the bottom of a 9 x 13 pan. Place three noodles in bottom over the sauce.

▪ Using a slotted spoon, scoop meat from sauce and layer over noodles.

▪ Layer with more noodles and spread out the ricotta cheese on top of noodles. Relayer with more noodles.

▪ Add a last layer of meat and sauce. Sprinkle with mozzarella cheese.

Cover with foil and bake for 1 1/4 hour at 350 degrees. Enjoy!

5 comments on “Garlic Monkey Bread Muffins and Lasagna

  1. what a great idea for the bread and the lasagna looks so tasty =)) Thanks for sharing and have a great day !!!

  2. L-O-V-E it! great idea, thanks 🙂

  3. Oh that looks so good!!! Need to bookmark this one!

Leave a Reply

