4 Comments

Spicy Black Bean Burger

I am married to a Meat and Potatoes guy. Beef and Pork are good. Chicken is okay. Fish is for lunch and vegetables are a side. I love the smell and taste of meat from the grill. I love the flavor it gives otherwise bland dishes. However, I don’t have to eat meat everyday like my husband does.

Meat and Potato Guy travels as part of his job so there are nights when the menu is completely up to me. Enter vegetarian dishes. The other day, I decided I was going to make a black bean patty. My plan was to include a poached egg and stack them on an English muffin. That way, I would be making eggs and could serve breakfast to my picky eaters. At the last minute, I ditched the egg idea and fed the kids leftover lasagna. Here is what I came up with.


Ingredients:

1 can (15oz) black beans, drained

¼ to ½ onion diced (depending on how large)

1 tsp. Tabasco or other hot sauce

½ tsp chili powder

1 egg

¼ cup bread crumbs

2 tbsp oil for frying

Directions:

Mash the beans in a large bowl.  A potato masher would have worked great. I used a large spoon. I left them sort of lumpy – some beans were not crushed.

Add all other ingredients (except oil) and mix well.

Press together to form patties. Add oil to pan and fry patties for 5 to 8 minutes per side.  I don’t know if they would hold up on the grill as they were sort of crumbly.

I placed patty on toasted English muffin and garnished with avocado slices and tomatoes.  It was one of the best burgers I have ever had!

The rest of the story: When my husband got home the next day, he worked out of the house.  I was making myself a leftover patty for lunch and offered to make him one. Since it was lunch, he felt he could do without the meat. I watched him take the first bite and his reaction was, “It’s okay.” I went on to make my sandwich and before I was finished, his sandwich was gone. He complemented the sandwich, saying it was really good and he was surprised how fast he gobbled it down. However, he could only give it a “B” since it had no meat.

4 comments on “Spicy Black Bean Burger

  1. Hey Pam I will have to try this! Sounds yummy. (Lisa Hanneman)

  2. Keep the vegetarian posts coming!! 🙂 We need to convert meat and potatoes guy 🙂

Leave a Reply

