2 Comments

Stuffed Peppers

I remember the first time I made stuffed peppers for my husband. We were only married a few months and at the time I could only cook a few different meals. That night I decided to be creative and make him stuffed peppers. I had no idea what I was doing so I just winged it. I thought I would stuff them with ground beef and rice and maybe add a tomato sauce of some kind. I spent hours preparing and cooking and the house smelled wonderful when he walked in. I set the table and lit candles because I really thought this was going to impress him. I watched him take the first bite, expecting his praise. Instead, he walked to the sink and spit it out. I didn’t realize that you were supposed to cook the rice first!

Thankfully, my cooking skills have come a long way. Here is my recipe, altered and perfected over the past 21 years of marriage.

Ingredients:
6 bell peppers – any color
2 cups COOKED rice
1 (15oz) can garbanzo beans, rinsed and drained
1 diced jalapeno – seeds optional
4 cloves of garlic chopped
1 (14.5oz.) can diced tomatoes – juice included
2 tsp chili powder
1 tbsp lime juice
16oz. smoked sausage, cut in coins and then again in quarters

Directions:
▪ Cut tops off peppers and scoop out seeds. Rinse inside of peppers and drain on paper towels
▪ Cook rice per directions and set aside
▪ Brown sausage in pan and drain any fat

▪ Mix rice, sausage and all other ingredients in a large bowl

▪ Stuff mixture into peppers, packing it down with spoon

▪ Place stuffed peppers upright in 9 x 13 pan. Pour ¾ cup of water in the bottom of the pan and vent pan with foil.
▪ Cook 40 to 45 minutes at 400 degrees

This went great with corn bread and a frosty glass of beer. We ate the leftovers the next night as a side to accompany pork chops on the grill.

2 comments on “Stuffed Peppers

Leave a Reply

