2 Comments

Gnocchi Gratin with Emmentaler Cheese and Bacon

When Mark cooks, it is usually meat on the grill and some kind of side. We grill year round in Chicago as long as it is not too far below freezing or too windy. It is hard to keep the temperature up in those conditions. Much of the time, Mark makes his sides on the grill alongside the meat. However, it was one of those windy days that we came up with this side cooked in the oven.

As I told you before, we are big carb fans. When I stumbled across gnocchi in the noodle aisle several years ago, I knew I had found my new best friend. I often add gnocchi to soup in place of noodles or regular potatoes because it holds up better and the starchiness of the gnocchi thickens up the soup the next day.

I love au gratin potatoes, so I thought I would try it with gnocchi. I chose the emmentaler cheese because it is rich and creamy. I use it along with gruyere when we make fondue. I added bacon because this dish was already fattening and I thought it would taste even better. Believe it or not, this was altered from a Cooking Light recipe from 2006.

Ingredients:
2 packages of gnocchi
1 tablespoon butter
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
2 cups milk
1/2 cup chicken broth
3/4 cup (3 ounces) shredded Emmentaler cheese
6 bacon slices, cooked and crumbled
1/4 cup bread crumbs

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray non-stick spray on the inside of a 9 x 13 dish.
Cook gnocchi as per directions on package. Gnocchi cooks quickly ā€“ 2 to 5 minutes after boil. Drain and set aside.
Shred cheese with hand grater or in food processor. Set aside.

Chop bacon into small pieces and set aside. I bought cooked bacon to save myself a step.
In large skillet, melt butter and add flour, stirring to mix evenly.

Add milk and chicken broth and whisk until blended. Bring to a boil and let thicken for a couple minutes. Remove from heat.

Stir in bacon and cheese to milk mixture.

When blended, add gnocchi.

Pour contents of skillet into 9 x 13 pan. Sprinkle top with bread crumbs.

Bake 20 minutes at 400 degrees.

Enjoy!

2 comments on “Gnocchi Gratin with Emmentaler Cheese and Bacon

  1. This looks crazy good šŸ™‚

  2. Fun idea! That looks delicious. (Thanks for stopping by on my blog too!)

Leave a Reply

