6 Comments

Grilled Corn on the Cob

Being from Illinois, corn is a staple in our house. It is something everyone will eat and with my family, that is rare. When I was a kid, my family cooked corn on the cob by husking it and placing it in a pot of boiling water. I always thought the corn got water logged that way. When I met my husband, he showed me how to make corn on the grill. By leaving the corn in the husks, it is protected from the flame. The kernels are crisp and have a great grilled taste. Best part? Corn on the grill is really easy and you don’t have to wash another big pot!

First, remove all corn tassles to avoid any unnecessary flames.

Leave corn in husk and soak with water.

Place wet corn on top rack of grill away from direct flame.

Turn corn one quarter turn every 7 or 8 minutes for a total cooking time of 30 minutes. The husks will be browned but not burnt.

Remove corn from grill and husk over the garbage can. CAUTION: The husks and steam from inside are extremely hot!

Serve with butter and enjoy!

6 comments on “Grilled Corn on the Cob

  1. I grew up in Wisconsin and my dad always made corn like this when I was little. Now I like to spread it with fancy homemade compound butters, pull the husks back up and then grill it this way. So good and tasty!

  2. Thanks for visit my blog. I also love grilled corn, great way to keep the corn sweet and juicy.

  3. I love grilled corn!! I have a post coming about it myself. I like to put sour cream, cotija cheese and hot sauce on mine 🙂 Great post!

Leave a Reply

