2 Comments

Baked Chicken and Tortellini with Alfredo Sauce

The other day I was looking for a new quick and easy meal on Pinterest. (Love Pinterest!) I stumbled across this yummy looking dish from Blog is the New Black and decided to make my own version of it. I am not normally a big cheese and Alfredo sauce fan, but this sounded too good to pass up.

The whole meal, including the homemade Alfredo sauce, took about 30 minutes to make. It uses cooked chicken which is a great way to use up leftovers. This time, of course, I did not have leftover chicken. When I ran to the store to get the few ingredients that I was missing, I picked up a rotisserie chicken. You can use whatever low-fat dairy ingredients you like, but there is so much cheese in this recipe, I don’t think the low fat is going to help!

This is a hearty meal, but perfect for these past few nights that dipped into the 30’s.

Ingredients for Alfredo Sauce* (Adapted from Our Best Bites)

2 cups milk

4 oz. cream cheese

2 tbsp. flour

1 tbsp. butter

6 cloves of garlic – minced (or 3 tsp jarred)

1 cup of grated Parmesan cheese

Before starting, put on a pot of water to blanch the tortellini and preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Directions for Alfredo Sauce:

Place milk, cream cheese and flour in blender and blend until smooth. In a sauce pan, melt butter and sauté garlic for 1 minute. Pour milk mixture into pan on low heat and cook for 5 to 6 minutes, stirring constantly. When mixture appears thicker, remove from heat. Add the Parmesan cheese and mix to blend. Cover for 10 minutes.

I cut up my chicken and cooked the tortellini while I was waiting.

Ingredients for chicken and tortellini

Approximately 4  small chicken breasts, cooked and cut into bite sized pieces

1 (16oz.) bag frozen tortellini

14oz. diced tomatoes (drained)

1 cup ricotta cheese

2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese

2 cups Alfredo sauce (see above or buy in jar)

Directions:

Place tortellini in boiling water and cook for ½ of the suggested time on the package. Drain and set aside.

In a large bowl, mix chicken, ricotta, tomatoes, tortellini and Alfredo sauce.

Pour into 9 x 13 baking dish. Top with mozzarella cheese.

Cook for 20 minutes at 375 degrees or until mozzarella is browned and bubbly.

2 comments on “Baked Chicken and Tortellini with Alfredo Sauce

  1. Thanks for commenting on my blog! So happy I found your page! This recipe looks delicious…I LOVE alfredo sauce 🙂

Leave a Reply

