Leave a comment

Hummus with a Kick!

I love hummus. When I don’t have time for a real lunch, hummus is a great snack. It fills you up enough to last until you can have a real meal. Although hummus is great with crackers, I feel a lot less guilty dipping veggies instead. I normally eat store bought hummus, but this time I went looking for a recipe to make myself. This one has a lot of kick from a jalapeno pepper. I made two versions. My husband likes a little more heat than I do. You will need the veggies to cool your mouth on his version. Both were gobbled up during the week.

Adapted from recipe from Peanut Butter and Peppers

Ingredients:

1 (15.5oz) can of garbanzo beans (chick peas), drained

3 cloves of garlic (or 1 ½ tsp of minced garlic)

½ cup of fresh cilantro

1 jalapeno, seeds and veins included

2 tbsp. of lime juice or more as needed

1 tsp. ground cumin

½ teaspoon of salt

Directions:

Cut top off jalapeno and slice pepper in strips. Do not discard seeds or veins. Peel garlic and chop roughly if using fresh.

Add both jalapeno and garlic to food processor. Pulse a few times to mince.

Add remaining ingredients and blend until smooth. If it is too hard to mix, add more lime juice.

Pour hummus into an airtight container. Refrigerate for an hour to chill and blend flavors. Hummus lasts up to one week in the fridge. Serve with carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, bell peppers, jicama or whatever fresh veggies you enjoy.

To make a cooled down version:

After I tasted the first hummus, I knew it was too much of a kick for me (my husband LOVED it). I used half of the hot hummus and added another ½ can of garbanzo beans and lime juice. It still had a lot of flavor, but was a little easier on my mouth.

Leave a Reply

