Leave a comment

Easy Italian Sausage with Potatoes and Onions

As a working mom, I am always looking for quick and easy meals. Last week, I had an hour and a half to shower, cook dinner and eat. Normally we would order pizza or have sandwiches on those kind of nights. Honestly, that gets really old. This meal took 15 minutes to prep and 45 minutes to cook. I had time to actually sit down and chew my food instead of inhaling it. The house smelled wonderful while it was cooking and everything tasted great!

I was in such a hurry that I only took a picture of the finished product. It was simple, so I am sure you don’t need the step by step pictures this time!

Ingredients:

6 Italian sauages

2 tbsp. dried oregano

6 cloves of garlic – minced

3 tbsp. olive oil

1 large Vidalia onion

6 medium potatoes

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

Brown sausage in pan on stove. (Five minutes on each side).

While sausage is browning, cut potatoes and onions in bite sized pieces (don’t bother to peel the potatoes!)

Place potatoes and onions in a gallon zip bag with garlic, oregano and oil. Seal bag and shake to mix evenly.

Pour contents into a greased 9 x 13 baking dish.

Put browned sausage on top of potato mixture.

Bake in oven for 45 minutes.

It really is that simple. We served the sausage on rolls, but you can save the carbs and eat them without the bread.

The next day:

I had leftover potatoes and onions and decided to use them up the following morning for breakfast. I warmed up the leftovers on the stove and then scrambled in two eggs.  (I would have included the leftover sausage, but my husband finished it off as a late night snack.) Simple and delicious. My favorite kind of meal!

Leave a Reply

