Leave a comment

Mexican Jambalaya

The morning before our vacation, we were busy packing and getting our house ready to be empty for over a week. The refrigerator had to be emptied of all perishable items that would not last until we got home. My veggie bins were still full from our last trip to the farmers market and it seemed like such a sin to throw out good food.  Knowing we had to eat dinner that night anyway, I challenged myself to come up with a recipe that used up what I had in the house, tasted good and was not too time consuming to make.

I never know how a new recipe will turn out, especially when I am making it up as I go along.  I was prepared to order a pizza in case it was a flop, but I am happy to report that it was a success! Feel free to add or subtract from the recipe based on what you have at home. If I had a jalapeno on hand, I would have added one for a little heat.

Total cook time: 4 hours

Prep time unknown – I kept thinking of things to add as I went along!

Ingredients:

3 pork loin chops – about 1 ½ lbs

1 large Vidalia onion

2 medium red bell peppers

1 medium zucchini, quartered

2 medium tomatoes, chopped in bite sized pieces including seeds

4-6 garlic cloves, minced

2 ears of fresh corn, cut off the cob

1 (14.5 oz.) black beans, rinsed and drained

¼ cup of dry white wine

1 (14.5 oz.) chicken broth

2 tsp. cumin

3 cups instant rice

Chopped cilantro

Directions:

Cut pork chops, onion and red peppers into bite sized pieces.

Place in 6 quart crockpot along with garlic, white wine and cumin.

Mix evenly. Cook on High for 1 hour.

After one hour, add black beans, tomatoes, zucchini, corn and chicken broth.

Reduce temperature to Low and cook an additional 2 ½ hours.

Add instant rice and stir until evenly mixed.  Continue to cook on Low for another half hour.

Just before serving, stir in a handful of chopped cilantro.

Feeds a small army. Great for leftovers and freezes well!

Leave a Reply

